PROJECT CLEAN HOUSE (and Part 1) 

In spite of the (endless) plans for renovating and fixing up our home, our place suffers from one fatal flaw: clutter. I buy and buy, but I’ve fallen behind on the purging and decluttering and keeping things in order. Even if I have a system in place, I know I still have to supervise the household to make sure we all stick to the system.  The H has asked me to finish cleaning out everything first before buying more things. He has a point. Some of the stuff I bought are still in shopping bags stowed away upstairs. I have to get my act together – I can’t improve the house without purging all the unecessary bits. And we’ve accumulated a lot of those even if we haven’t even lived here a year!

A few weeks back – I’ve cleaned up this area, for the most part, but you see where our clutter areas lie.

I promised the boys I’d focus on what needs to be done now – with what we have and the clutter I can tackle – before I go back to thinking of what I can buy or new project to tackle. Oh, my lists are still there, and I definitely will go back to them, but right now, and especially after the service this morning and the H’s challenge, I promise my family I’m going to tidy up – KonMari, if you will. 

I not only have to purge and declutter, but I need to finish those schedules and put the systems back in place… Aaaaand since I’m an incurable list maker, I’ve come up with my to-do lists, which I divided into parts: 

Part 1 – Downstairs

  • Command Center
  • Kitchen
  • School Station
  • Dining Roon/Under the Stairs/Living Room/Entry way 

(The 4th item are areas bunched together because these corners/rooms are already clean/organized right now). 

Part 2 – Upstairs 

  • Landing
  • The bedroom of horrors (Laz’s room that has now become our storage area i.e. junk pile) 
  • Ante-room 

Part 3 – Downstairs 

  • Shared boys’ room
  • Boys’ bathroom 

Part 4 – Upstairs 

  • Closet room/walk-in 
  • Master bedroom
  • Master bathroom

Part 5 – Downstairs and Outdoors 

  • Laundry room and pantry
  • Dirty kitchen 
  • Side yard (utility area) 

Part 6 – Outdoors

  • Side yard (garden area)
  • Backyard
  • Storage shed 
  • Balcony 

It seems kind of daunting, my list. I’ve broken it up in parts that only makes sense to me, hah! Here’s PART 1 – DOWNSTAIRS 

Command Center:

  1. File this year’s billing statements, and take out last year’s calendar from our household binder. 
  2. Print this year’s calendars and grocery lists, and have them photocopied. 
  3. File away new calendars and grocery lists in their respective binders (punch and washi tape included).
  4. Get boxes for the china I’ll be returning to my mother. 
  5. Organize that overhead china cabinet (check supplies there, return the birthday dishes). 
  6. Note down supplies needed for command center.
  7. Switch back the black frames for the white ones.
  8. Print new copies of cleaning schedule, put help’s copy in a sleeve and clipboard.
  9. Discuss laundry schedule with help, and revise if needed.
  10. Orient the new help on the household binder, grocery lists, laundry and cleaning schedules.
  11. Check and re-organize keys. 
  12. Find a spot for Papa’s mail. 

Kitchen 

  1. Pack away the china I’ll be returning to my mom in boxes. 
  2. Sort and donate dinnerware, cookware, and all other containers and drinking flasks we do not use. 
  3. Go over each cabinet – check if we use items stocked or stored there, and have help wipe them down.
  4. Clear open shelves. 
  5. Take note of broken drawer hinges or storage needs. 
  6. Borrow my dad’s slr, bring out new dinnerware and cutlery, take photos for help’s reference, print photos, organize in small albums or corkboards or laminate for ease of reference.
  7. Figure out baby bottle station for the 2 younger boys – reorganize, take note of new bottles or nipples we may need and storage or container needs, purge what we do not need.
  8. Take note of lunch containers and drinking flasks for school, donate what we do not need or use.

School Station

  1. Put Laz’s important school papers in an envelope, for filing later on. 
  2. Check supplies tray, and take note of what we need. 
  3. Tidy up Laz’s cabinet: empty out clear box with seatwork, sort artwork we want to keep, check Laz’s extra school supplies, take note of what we need. 
  4. Empty out Alo’s cabinet. 
  5. Measure cabinets for matching bins. 

    Dining Room/Under the Stairs/Living Room/Entry Way 

    1. Organize the dining shelves. 
    2. Transfer emergency supplies into backpacks or something with handles. 
    3. Note emergency supplies and expiration dates. 
    4. Have carseat cleaned. 
    5. Change and clean the diffuser. 
    6. Check umbrellas in entry. 
    7. Clear the work files from entry and under the stairs. 
    8. Have that fan repaired! 
    9. Put the emergency light somewhere else. 
    10. Post a schedule for watering my plants. 
    Leave a Reply

    