LANAI-PLAYROOM: The simplest dvd storage

The mess on top of our toy/tv cabinet has always been the pile of dvds. I’ve tried using sleeves, binders, etc. for organizing the kids’ videos – but yaya and the kids have never followed whatever system I tried to put into place. So, I just decided to keep it simple: get a BOX

Grey metal perforated box from H&M Home

I’m going to try to do something about the wires – I hate exposed wires and cables. The Walloh Design print is there temporarily – I’m going to use it for the shared boys’ room but wanted to see how this space would look with a print to balance off the Typo lightbox on the other side: 

Doesn’t the print look a tad small though? I’m also reconsidering painting that wall dark – maybe a gallery wall would work better both for the size of this room and for taking the focus off the tv? 

Here it is without the print this time.

I like how clean it looks actually (but please excuse the old hand-me-down fan). The good thing about the box is that they just basically toss in the pile of videos that used to sit beside the tv. It’s obviously not sorted, but at least it’s all contained in that box – easily accessible, in plain sight, but still hidden. Next, I’m going to sort the dvds and get rid of the ones the kids don’t watch. And notice, the Fisher Price chair is gone? Gave it to Luli this morning. In my list, I mentioned bins for the shelves in that unit, so it won’t look cluttered. I know there’s something about leaving pretty toys out on display, but I am going to set up Montessori shelves already. This unit is for toys – play toys not educational ones, so I’m keeping them out of sight (hence, the cabinets). 

Leave a Reply

