LIVING ROOM: Makrama Wall Hanging

I swore up and down I wouldn’t buy decorative pieces for the house until I complete all the bare essentials but when I saw the macrame walk hangings of Makrama, I just caved. I fell so hard! I got in touch with Kim from Makrama and she happily accepted a custom order (Kim is AWESOME #kimforlife). I specified two things only and left the design entirely up to Kim: I wanted it to be BIG and I wanted rainbow colors.

Aaaaand THIS is what Kim made for me:


Isn’t it beautiful? The colors are much softer and more pastel-y and prettier in person. The size for my macrame wall hanging is 20 inches. Kim is so easy to work with and is just the sweetest. My order only took a little over a week and Kim constantly sends me updates – in progress photos, and text messages. Aside from the custom piece, I ordered a teeny tiny Makrama wall hanging for the shared boys’ room (you can see ready made designs at Makrama’s IG page and over at Hop Bop Shop).

I already have a hook in my living room, just waiting for a woven or macrame wall hanging. (For Christmas, I intend to hang our advent calendar there). I love that we’re the only one with that design (so far, hehe), and I love that it’s entirely handmade. I love Kim and Makrama, period.

Here it is now in my living room. That’s the handcrafted baby play gym that Nath of Dekko so very kindly made for me (and which I shall share in another post). And that diffuser is from Dapitan. The side table is Ikea from Furniture Source Phils. and the “souk” rug is from West Elm. The links on the play gym is from Mothercare. Aside from the last 3 items mentioned, everything else is proudly locally made.

Filipino furniture makers, artisans and crafters have been making a lot of exciting products. As much as I love the Scandinavian style and certain Western brands, I do equally love (slowly) filling our home with locally made or source products.  I think of it as art (especially those handmade items) and I am so so proud of what Pinoy artists, artisans, makers, and crafters have to offer.

 

Leave a Reply

