Halloween Ideas

Since I gave birth quite unexpectedly (a whole month early!), I didn’t get to finish some of the Halloween projects I had lined up – and didn’t even get to figure out how or where to hang some of the decors I already have.  I guess I’m a convert – from a self-proclaimed Halloween “hater”, I am now enthusiastically planning our Halloween decorations – for next year! Hahaha!  Here are some of my favorite DIY project pegs:

projects-jpg

(Sources after the break!)

#1 – Love, love, LOVE this Sleepy Hollow book page wall art from Delightfully Noted

#2 – “Boo” string art!  Nath of Dekko, the guy behind our awesome dining and coffee tables, is married to someone who makes string art, yay!  So I know who to contact for next Halloween.  (Source: Etsy)

#3 – DIY wall prints – the “EEK” sign from Me and My Big Ideas was the inspiration for our own DIY wall print.

#4 – And that spider printable from Thrifty & Chic was the inspiration for the spider we put in our own “EEK” print.

#5 – For even more intricate string art, A Beautiful Mess‘s Halloween skeleton is just beautiful.   (I have no idea how I can replicate that!!!)

#6 – I’m hoping to do some (simple) arts and crafts with the kiddos every Halloween.  I want to start with these pebble monsters from Morning Creativity too darn adorable!

#7 – This corner with that rustic broom and witch hats from Brooklyn Limestone was the inspiration for our own “witches’ broom parking” at home.  I was trying to find basic witches’ hats but all the ones I found in the mall were a bit over the top.  (I know, I know, I should learn to make my own).

#8 – More doable Halloween prints, this time from Just a Girl and Her Blog.

#9 and #10 – More DIY projects with the boys – hanging ghosts made out of coffee filters (from Kids Play Box) and mummies made out of old jars, gauze, and googly eyes (from Hi Sugarplum).

Special mentions: this really awesome cross stitch Halloween skull and pumpkin from Decor Hacks; a Halloween bucket list for the kids to do, from Makoodle; and 20 Halloween arts and crafts projects, from House Beautiful.

As for other stuff I would like to, um, buy: poison decanter and tin box, and movie monsters wall print from Quirks; a woodcraft spider, zombie books, anatomy prints, skulls, and really neat monster prints from Co/op Manila, and a skull planter from Hey Kessy

