RE-EVALUATING MY PROJECT PRIORITIES (AND MINI-PROJECTS!)

**UPDATED as of 23 October 2016

projects

Yet another mini project – the boys’ clothing inventory for yaya

I feel like I’ve been all over the place when it comes to tackling projects around the house.  I’ve read about how home decor and organization can take forever because people lack focus.  I swear, I’m more focused than it seems.  Oh, I do get sidetracked here and there, but tackling the house on top of being pregnant, parenting 2 little boys, juggling 3 jobs, plus the emotional storms that still hit me every week has been a pretty tall order.  In other words, life gets in the way.

projects2

Even creative journaling was put on hold (I so enjoyed it, but I only got to do 1 week last July, and nothing so far for August.  Boo).

I also find myself doing mini projects when: 1) I’m too swamped with work; or 2) I’m saving up for major purchases or prepping to tackle bigger expenses.  I also like to scribble down my to-do lists in this blog – actual ones that need immediate action before I give birth and my “red notebook” lists, or castles in the air as they’d say in Little Women.  I guess the way I’ve been handling things right now is that I have ONE major project going on (as documented in One Corner at a Time), but simultaneously I find myself tackling little organization projects here and there too (organization projects usually because these don’t cost anything, or expenses are minimal as opposed to, say, saving up for dining chairs or a couch!).

But I will admit that daydreaming about so many different projects, big and small, has been confusing me recently.  For instance, in my last Project Priorities list, my rundown of projects to handle was as follows: 1) Laz’s Room; 2) Living Room; and 3) Kids’ Ground Floor Bedroom.  Oh how that changed so drastically!  As for my mini projects – I still haven’t finished organizing my keys, our main family menu board, and my filing system at home!  (Substantially finished, I swear!  Mahal magpa-duplicate noh!  And as for the filing system, the study room is still a mess, so I was hoping to clear it up first).  Haaay.  Kalat na kung sa kalat!  Kainis!

So ‘eto na!  DIZZIZIT.  I am drawing up my Project Priorities – including my Mini-Projects – AND STICKING TO THIS LIST.  So help me, Lord.  Promise, ‘eto na, no more detours or distractions.  (P.S.  I’ve completed almost everything in my previous Mini Projects list though – I’ll still update that post for links, but I’ll incorporate that Mini Projects list to my new one below).

PROJECT PRIORITIES

FIRST AND FOREMOST:  LAUNDRY ORGANIZATION

Buy laundry hampers!  Okay, this is really important because while we have a schedule for the help for laundry, the dirty clothes are freakin’ all over the place.  To do this, I have to also clear the upstairs landing.  Augh.

For the upstairs:

  • For the landing – 3 big hampers (Darks, Lights, Whites) Got 3 dark grey plastic Rubbermaid bins from Wilcon (originally for trash).  I originally wanted just plastic hampers, but now I’m not sure I like them – they make my landing look like a recycling center, haha.  I am eyeing these and these baskets now. 
  • For the landing – 3 mesh bags inside bigger bins for socks
  • For the bathroom – 1 small “transition” bin (for all clothes before sorting into other hampers) My favorite Skinny Can by Umbra.  Yes, I seem to use trash cans for laundry hampers.  (I generally don’t like how some baskets shed?  And I worry about snagging delicate clothes on baskets.  Plus, they stink more and are harder to wipe down that plastic hampers. Aaaah!  Aesthetics over function?!).
  • For the walk-in closet – 1 medium-sized bin for everything, 1 small hamper for items for handwashing and dry-cleaning, 1 basket for clothes for repair or alterations

For the downstairs:

  • For the boys’ bedroom – 1 hamper for school uniforms, 1 big hamper for pambahay and panglakad clothes
  • For the boys’ bedroom – 2 mesh bags for socks (one for each hamper)
  • For the boys’ bathroom – 1 small “transition” hamper

I have to figure out if we need separate bins downstairs for:

  • bedsheets;
  • towels and face towels; and
  • kitchen towels, cloths, and pamunas.

I’m going to use my trash cans-turned-hampers for the bedsheets, etc. to keep in the laundry room once I buy the baskets for the landing.  (Para naman hindi masayang!).  Then I need to figure out where the clean and folded laundry (in the laundry room) should be stored before ironing day (2x a week) rolls along.  Then where to put the ironed laundry before they get sorted into our closets???  – Got a white coat rack for the landing, with white metal hangers, where Mafe now hangs ironed shirts and dresses (instead of hanging them on closet door handles before – drove me crazy).  Got 2 deep Sterilite white plastic baskets for folded clothes.  All for the landing.

Gosh, that’s a lot of bins.  But I noticed that one big source of kalat in our home are all the dirty laundry, even the clean laundry, and where they should go!

In short, as I have been observing our daily routines and day-to-day messes, it seems I need to tackle our Laundry Room pronto!  (This includes hooks for the baby strollers!!! – My dad got me the hooks!  I just need to get it from him and install them)

Dining Room

  • Get some chairs!The H got 4 white Charles chairs with steel legs from MOD Living  – salamat! (09.15.16)
  • Get a booster seat (or even a high chair still?) for Alo.
  • Complete my initial set of tableware (just need glasses now and them woven coasters.  All the stalls in Greenhills were out of the round ones, arrrrgh.  – Got Adeline origami-esque glasses from Habitat Manila, yay, and round woven coasters which were gifts from my mother.  Have temporary mother-of-pearl coasters for now care of the H.  Oh and my lighter grey table napkins (spotted in Rustan’s!  Though I ordered a white monogram set from The Olive Tree), and a silicone cookie sheet to line my bamboo woven serving tray). – I am FINALLY set for now, even down to the trivets.  I can live without light grey table napkins; my beige ones worked better with my Crate and Barrel printed plates because I got rattan oval placemats!  Even got trivets.  I just need to set up everything up and take photos for Mafe’s reference.
  • Get a new white electric fan for this space

After I finish the above, I’m putting the dining room on hold and tackling the ground floor bedroom first because helllooo, the baby is coming in 2 months!  #slightpanicmode

Younger Boys’ Ground Floor Room

  • Buy a Marikina crib (they’re teeny tiny), have it painted, and have wheels attached by Mang Ariel at the bottoms – DONE. No wheels needed, can’t fit it through the bedroom door anyway because I have a cabinet by the doorway too.
  • Get a bunk bedI’ve decided we DON’T need a bunk bed for now.  I have to think about this.  Mang Ariel is coming to paint our existing twin.  Do I need a pull-out made for Yaya?  And I may need a bed rail there for Alo.
  • Repaint room.  – DONE.
  • Repaint the laminated dresser.  Mang Ariel again to the rescue.Doing away with this.  I might just eventually replace the dresser, but it works with the new dark walls.
  • Buy 2 an electric fans (one wall type for yaya, one standing fan) – No need for a wall fan because I’m doing away with the bunk bed.  (Thank goodness!  Was dreading that because I’ve been checking them out and they really aren’t pretty).
  • Buy 2 laundry hampers
  • Figure out the curtain situationWill be getting roller blinds.  I found some in True Value Shang.
  • Get a banig and a fuzzy rug to go on top of the banig.  Or get those foam playmat thingies and get a printed rug to go on top of it.

Living Room

I’m starting from ground zero in the living area.  It is completely bare.  I have nothing, just 1 bench from the dining set my mother loaned me.  Right now, all the other stuff from the old house is dumped there.  It’s a mess.  So it’s all about getting the following:

  • Grey 2-seater sofa – Done
  • Coffee tableDone
  • 1 white chair.  If it doesn’t end up looking too crowded, 1 white chair and 1 black chair
  • Flat wooden dish or basket for the coffee tableGot both from H&M Home for 50% off!

Eventually:

  • Get a faux tree and a planter – Found an affordable and, more importantly, realistically leafy one in SM Megamall department store.  For planters, I’m gunning for a basket from C&C or a tin pail from Arq Living.  I’ll still have Mang Ariel build a little platform so we can wheel that thing out to make space for our Christmas tree.
  • Replace the floor lamp
  • Replace the bamboo area rug – I’ve cleared the space and got my quote from Weave Manila.  Ipon na lang.  And I’ve decided NOT to go with grey or slate but natural.  But I did find a more affordable very light beige, almost white from a distance, area rug from Habitat Manila.
  • Pendant light
  • New curtains
  • A pouf
  • A side table with storage for the extra throw pillow covers and curtains.

The tough thing about the living room truly is the COUCH.  When we went back to Our Home in Virramall, all my couch pegs were gone!  I think I’ll just go ahead and order my coffee table from Nath – that at least I love.  I don’t care if it looks ridiculous – a living area with no seats, just a coffee table.  But I really haven’t been able to find a grey couch that I fell in love with and which fits my budget.

Lanai/Playroom

I need to tackle this room because this is where the kids play, and this is where yaya and the baby will hang out.  (The ground floor bedroom is really too small for playing; for sleeping lang talaga siya).  Thankfully, work here is minimal.  More babyproofing than anything:

  • Buy 3 Mosslandi picture ledges from Furniture Source (but measure the wall where they’re supposed to go first!!!)
  • Get those safety play mats in lieu of our area rug now
  • Put doors on the toy cabinets.  – Discussed this with my mom.  No na daw, it will look ugly.  She said to just get more baskets!  So I need more of those baskets from Tiendesitas and maybe some printed coated canvas bins from H&M Home.
  • Install those CD racks
  • Cushion for daybed, and throw pillows.  (If my budget permits, I’d prefer a softer couch actually, with no sharp or hard edges).
  • Have Papa secure the TV set
  • Repaint the bookshelves Need to rethink this.  I think I’m fine with their being grey.  I’ll see, after the rest of the lanai comes together.
  • Have the lounge chair re-upholstered Still debating if we’re keeping this in the lanai.

Revert back to Dining Room

  • New pendant light or small chandelier.  This involves getting the electrician, so I need to do this when we have the pendant light installed for the living room (and the closet room).
  • Ask Ben’s Windoors to come over to repair the sliding door frame, or have it measured for a quote on new white frames
  • A planter

The Sideboard Dilemma

Okay, this whole thing about getting a buffet cabinet or sideboard for our itty bitty dining area deserves a whole little section:

1] I emailed (and actually already followed up) a request for a quotation to Space Encounters for their Envelop Ideas sideboard.  I have really been liking the whole origami look lately, and I love the lilac legs.  I asked for a quote for the same model but smaller scale, since the dining area is tiny.

2] I finally saw the mid-century sideboard in West Elm Estancia that started this sideboard crazy.  Php 44,000++ Eeek!  Way beyond my budget right now.  But oh so beautiful in person, with a lot of clever little features inside.  I am more in love with it than ever.

3] STOP GAP SOLUTION:  Ikea Lerberg Shelving Unit from Furniture Source.  So affordable at Php 1,900.  And yeah, while it’s a stop gap solution until I can afford a sideboard, I am also still honestly wondering if I can truly fit a sideboard in that area.  I’ll be putting Alo’s high chair there at the end of the dining table, and when you push it back, it’s going to be quite crowded with a sideboard behind it.  I was hoping for everything light and air and, well, bare.

The shelving unit I can put beside the window, under the spiral staircase, instead of underneath the window.  (This is my decorating peg for those shelves).  It frees up traffic in the dining area itself, and I’ll still get to use the electrical outlets underneath the stairs.  So who knows?  This stop gap solution may eventually turn into a permanent one.  (BUT I STILL WANT THAT WEST ELM SIDEBOARD FOR MY DREAM HOUSE!!!!)

I’m not putting the trinkets (such as tabletop decor and wall decor) for now because that’s easy, and that’s the fun part.

And I haven’t even started thinking about the upstairs bedrooms and the bathrooms!  It’s neverending!  I wonder how much I’ll get to finish by the time I give birth?

MINI PROJECTS

mini-projects

  1. Laz’s Lunch Box Planner.  I re-did the whole thing, and have our lunch box planning and storage system in place.  (View the posts here and here).
  2. Filing System/Paper Organization.  Finish my binders (home, automobile, important documents, and kids’ school binders).  Get additional binders and file boxes for this. Sell our red metal filing drawer.  You know what I also didn’t account for and need to find a way to organize/store – all the mail I still get for my brother and my parents that arrive in my house!
  3. Declutter our refrigerator – outside.  The inside of our fridge is another story.  It started with the black clipboard Glads gave me for my Grocery List template.  Need a black magnet board for my calendar – the one I got was too big! – so I need to go back to National Bookstore in Quezon Avenue for the smaller version.  I also want to replace the calendar I got from Paper Stone.  Sorry, but the color is getting to me, and it doesn’t match my washi tape, hehe.  I just want a plain and black one.  Will check Common Room for this.  Also need nicer magnets – again, will go to Common Room. (Got a magnet board from NBS, and a black and white calendar by Design Hatch, available at Hey Kessy.  I redid our calendar for posting, and for filing in our Household Planner binder.  I still like the donut magnets I got from NBS,  so I’m not itching to change.  Just need to take a photo of this corner).
  4. Keys Organization.  On hold for weeks (started here).  I was waiting to get those key chains I wanted from Keycards.  Now I have them.  No more excuses!  Just need to stick to this Last Few Things list.  Finally duplicated the last batch of keys.  Just need to label them, and take an inventory to give to my dad.
  5. Alo’s small diaper bag.  Done, and in fact updated, because I combined the snack containers when I found these really nifty washable snack bags by Blue Avocado in National Bookstore – Quezon Avenue branch again!  Plus I changed the bottles because we also swapped out Alo’s bottles at home in preparation for Bo!  (Check it out here and here, and as finally updated here).
  6. Warranties and Manuals Box.  All done, yipee. (You can see it here).
  7. Medium diaper bag.  All done, too!  Just need to take photos!
  8. Grocery bag.  Almooost done.  Just need minor things, like my lip balm, a charging cable, and an extra pen.  All done!!!  YIPEEE.  (JUST NEED TO TAKE A PHOTO)
  9. Stoppers for the boys’ drawstring shorts.  Just need to sit down and gather them shorts together.
  10. Make up my mind as to where to put my whiteboard eraser and marker. In the Family Command Center?  Behind the door (the eraser keeps falling down grrr)?  Or on the fridge wall, in one of those magnetized bins I got?
  11. Boys’ clothing inventory.  For the panglakad clothes downstairs that yaya is in charge of.  We keep separate sets for when they go to West.  Hehe, it sounds complicated, but the history behind it is this – it used to drive me crazy when they left clothes in West.  Not our problem anymore these days, but we still keep an inventory out of habit.  (See 1st photo in this post, hehe).
  12. Make our family meal planning board/menu board.
